GSA 2021 Awards

We are excited to announce the winners of the Genetics Society of AustralAsia’s 2021 Awards:

  • The Genetics Society of AustralAsia MJD White Medal for excellence in genetics research is awarded to Professor Kathy Belov (University of Sydney)
  • The Genetics Society of AustralAsia Ross Crozier Medal for a mid-career researcher is awarded to Dr Camilla Whittington (University of Sydney) 
  • The Genetics Society of AustralAsia Alan Wilton Award for an early career researcher is awarded to Dr Seth Cheetham (Mater Research Institute)
  • The D.G Catcheside Prize, for the top doctoral student in the field of genetics (for a PhD thesis that passed examination during 2020) is awarded to Dr Emily Roycroft (PhD at the University of Melbourne, now at The Australian National University)
  • The Genetics Society of AustralAsia Award for Excellence in Education, for an outstanding genetics educator, is awarded to Dr Phillip Wilcox (University of Otago)
  • The Spencer Smith-White Travel Award – traditionally awarded to postgraduate members of GSA to attend our annual conference, but this year providing the opportunity to present at GSA’s online conference – is awarded to Stephanie Chen (University of New South Wales) and Nynke Raven (Deakin University)

Congratulations to all award recipients! To hear from our award winners and learn more about their excellent work, please join our online conference from 6th-8th October. Conference registration is free for GSA members. Abstract submission closes on 11th August. More information about the 2021 conference is available here.

Our thanks to all who applied or nominated others for the 2021 awards. We encourage all who are eligible to apply for our next round of awards in 2022.